BREAKING: Three South West Senators Are Behind Akpabio’s Senate Presidency Ambition__Senator


By Coastal News

Against the alleged report that South West senators are rooting for the candidature of Senator Godswill Akpabio as the President of the 10th senate, Senators elect of South West have dismissed the reports as false and baseless

A Senator elect who chose to remain anonymous told this newspaper on Wednesday that the ambition of Senator Godswill Akpabio is driven by three Senators from the South West

The source named Tokunbo Abiru , Solomon Olamilekan Adeola( Yayi) and Opeyemi Bamidele as the Senators mounting pressure on the President Elect to consider Senator Akpabio as the consensus candidate.

“They told the President Elect Tuesday night that all of us from the South West are supporting Akpabio for Senate President but the President elect discovered it was untrue this morning. As South Westerners, we have good relationship with all Nigerians and these three senators can not speak for us. They are not our leaders and cannot take South West Senators for granted.
He maintained that their leader is a former Governor who is also a Senator of the. Federal Republic of Nigeria.

“For us, we have resolved to do the right thing for the country since it’s the only way Asiwaju ( President-elect) can succeed as President. We have chosen to support fairness and Justice as this country is built on a tripod- Hausa, Igbo and Yoruba.

The twelve senators from the South West already have a preferred candidate. We have eleven senators and one ranking senator who have endorsed Senator Orji Uzor Kalu for President and Senator Sani Musa for Deputy Senate President. The Northern Senators and Southern Senators believe in the leadership of this two senators and there is no going back. The good news is that Asiwaju has strong character and will stand firm on his personal convictions.” said the source

Also speaking, another Senator elect dismissed the three adding that they were only prosecuting the job they were paid to do, “ Those three are just pursuing their personal interests.. It is alledged that Akpabio promised Yayi Chairman of Appropriation committee and also promised the others two juicy committees. So it’s basically about their interests not for Tinubu’s success or unity of Nigeria. Is the opinion of three senators greater than the opinion of 12 senators? We have endorsed Senator Kalu and Senator Musa as our preferred presiding officers and we shall deliver them on June 13” -the source said

Meanwhile, others alledgedly eyeing the 10th Senate presidency include, Senator Jibrin Barau (APC Kano North); and Senator Abdul- Aziz Yari (APC, Zamfara); Governor David Umahi (APC, Ebonyi South) and Mr Adams Oshiomhole (APC, Edo North), who would be first-time legislators.

Leave a Reply

%d bloggers like this: